PDA

View Full Version : Setting up my new Neotat

Vallee
07-17-2011, 01:12 PM
Hello,
I have recently switched over from a very light rotary pen to the NeoTat. I want to make sure I am on the right page. I am a cosmetic tattoo artist, 90% of the work I do is medical restoration of the areola. Allot of these women have had radiation, always dealing with scar tissue, and keep in mind there are often implants (Breast). I have a few questions...

1) Long taper or Short taper? Why? (My goal is to cause as little damage to the skin as possible).
2) 7mag or 9mag? (Curved) #8, #10, or #12?
3) Running my power source continuously at 9?
4) Shepherd's loop (Top of needle) facing towards me or away from me? I have found this to differ on needles, does it matter?
5) Needles always below the needle bar?

TattoosByRob
07-17-2011, 05:31 PM
Hey, I've found long tapers feel more comfortable to be tattooed with and require less force to put in, You will definitely get better colour saturation with a 9mag as opposed to a seven, Curved magnums give you a softer look and are easier to blend with than flat mags (in my opinion). The voltage you run your NeoTat at will depend on how the skin is reacting to the colouring, start off low and turn it up until it puts it in the way you need for that particular application, Running the mag on the bottom of the bar ensures that the needle rides as flush as it can with the tube........

spoonertattoos
07-17-2011, 09:10 PM
This is a interesting quandary. On one hand here we have a perminate make up technician who is doing pretty important work as far as cosmetic surgery goes. (im assuming she dealing with breast cancer survivors) On the other hand the questions being asked are like first week tattoo apprentice level. I mean which way does the needle go? On the other hand she's not a tattooer so whats the protical on answering these kind of questions?