PDA

View Full Version : Jaguar with Rotary Works (into the abyss....)

RolandPacheco
07-24-2011, 06:50 PM
Just got my RW machine from Dale on Friday and decided to try it out on a walk-in client. This is my first attempt at color realism with an animal as the subject. I used the RW for 80% and finished it off with my Dragonfly. Color work on dark skin is a challenge but because of where I live I don't often get the opportunity to work with the perfect alabaster skin that really makes this type of work shine. It took me 2.75 hours, groupings used were 1RL and 15M, ink used, One, Bloodline, Alla Prima. Anyway, hopefully this thread won't be consigned to the RTW thread black hole! Cheers!

Alie K
07-24-2011, 10:38 PM
What made you switch to the dragonfly? Or were you using 2 different size groupings and had each machine set up for each one?

RolandPacheco
07-25-2011, 01:21 AM
yep, that's the reason. I don't like having to switch needles because I feel that I lose my flow!

Alie K
07-25-2011, 01:29 AM
Totally hear you on that! Some tattoos, I have 4 machines out at a time.

I suppose that I should feel lucky that I get to work on a variety of skin tones from pale caucasian to deep african. Darker skin (even dark midtone) can really be a challenge. I have to do a bit of adjusting with my work to make it successful-looking.

You did a really nice job on it - especially considering that you took on a nice sized piece for your first run with the machine! (and I'm not just saying that because it's a tattoo of a 'kitty') :p lol

RolandPacheco
07-25-2011, 03:30 PM