PDA

View Full Version : Decaying Rose n Jesus

DiarrheaSuitcase
05-28-2012, 08:08 AM
Lined with 4.2 Capo (7rlt), colored with 3.5 Vivace (9mag bugpin).

All in all, I like the way this came out. Normally I steer clear from anything that resembles traditional style, but I decided to have some fun and try a neo-trad'ish style. The dead half of the rose was a lot of fun and something I have never done before. Even though it took extra time due to experimenting, mixing gray with colors is a great way to get those muted or weird tones.

I am however disappointed with my lettering. I was very timid going into them and as a result, I had to make multiple passes to make them solid. And even though the client is super happy with the piece, I'm pretty bummed because I think the lettering came out like butt-crack (of course I'll be keeping this to myself to ensure he stays happy).
I admit that I still have fear when lining with a lot of hang. I like seeing where my needle is and the pros to lining like this outweigh the cons, but I've had a couple of incidents of going too deep and I think that keeps me freaked out and lining like a pansy. I can't wait until I conquer this demon.

Anyhow, thanks for looking!

Tkocevar1
05-28-2012, 10:32 AM
not bad at all man i see what you mean on the the lettering but it doesnt look horrible by any means

Sekt
05-28-2012, 11:03 AM
What happened when you went too deep, some blowout? scaring? what ink/machine/needle were you using at the time?

clint morrison
05-28-2012, 11:33 AM
Looks good to me! Very nice.

tatu richie
05-28-2012, 12:05 PM
lookin good

Sage Oz
05-28-2012, 12:54 PM
The decaying rose looks TITS! Love it. You're right about the lettering, but they don't distract from the picture much. Overall it looks really good!

DiarrheaSuitcase
05-28-2012, 04:35 PM
What happened when you went too deep, some blowout? scaring? what ink/machine/needle were you using at the time?