PDA

View Full Version : Rotary Works 6v Motor Problems, My solution, Possible upgrade/fix?

Mister P
05-02-2013, 11:42 AM
Hey guys, let me start off by saying I'm no expert on these things, I've simply been playing around a found a possible solution to a common problem. I've had a 6v Rotary Works (plain brass) for a while now and I loved it, great all round machine, does it all however after a few months the motor started the usual slowing down thing and I stopped using it. I then ordered a new motor and that was great however this lasted maybe 4 tattoos before the same problem. At first I thought maybe it was a dodgy clip cord etc but everything ran fan just not the RW.

I thought it might have been the clip cord as I noticed if you moved the cord as the machine was running it would speed up or slow down. What I noticed was that when I applied more outward pressure to the binding posts effectively pushing them apart it sped up. I stripped the machine down and discovered that although the binding posts were still firm and not loose or broken, the actual connection into the motor was loose on one side. Not a lot but enough that you could here the it click as you wiggled it. A few tests running just the motor proved that this play was causing the running issue. I did my best to solder up the connection to stop the movement and this was great but what it made me think is that with high spring tension clip cords, you will inevitably be putting too much stress on these binding posts so I decided to come up with a solution.

With this in mind I figured the most obvious fix is to take the pressure of the motor connections. I had a little sketch and found a neat solution using an old 35mm film canister. I chose this for a few reasons, first was the weight, I didn't see the point in adding a lot of extra weight to what is a nice balanced machine, also the plastic case wont cause grounding issues, and lastly the top comes off making it easy to wire up.