Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

tattoos not healing good with rotary..?

so i've been tattooing with rotary's now for about 2 years now. off and on.. just got my bishop a month ago.. every once and a while some tattoos would come back healed like shit... real bad. it seemed to always scab where the black and the color meet the most.. i dont know why. not all of my tattoos come out like this. just a few every once in a while. my tattoos with coils never have done that...
    my questions are...
    1.how far should the needle hang out of the tip of the tube?
    i really dont feel like it is hanging out too far.. when it is barley out (in fear of going too deep) it feels like i'm going over the tattoo too much to make it solid....

2. does voltage matter? i know it does.. i run my bishop at 9.5, around there.... the machine gets hot...

ive been using curved 15 mags mostly.. 13s as well...

i dont know what to do. i dont want to go back to coils.. they have been alot of trouble lately. just not as smooth as the rotarys...
    most of the tattoos on my profile are done with rotarys and have healed fine. just those few that really bother me.
    any advise?

Knows Whats Up!
    Post Thanks / Like
    I doubt it's the Bishop to blame I use one myself, if it was or if it was your technique, you'd be seeing the problem more often. You say it's just a few times? The answer may be very simple,some people,thankfully not many, are bad healers. No matter what you do,they scab up bad. I once had a guy who was having a lot of tribal and we had this issue,no matter what we tried he scabbed up bad. At the time he was living with a nurse and she fetched home some medical grade burn dressings, it worked, finally he was healing up normally.
    There is one mystery here, you say you run your Bishop at 9.5 and it gets hot? I run mine between 10-12 and it doesn't even seem to get warm-get in touch with Franco.

Machine Builder I build Tattoo Machines